Thud!

So I fell. Again. It becomes more and more painful each time, perhaps because I have figured out how I’m supposed to walk. So dense, so inward, I trip right over the people I’m supposed to love. There they are right in front of me, waiting for me to notice them. Thud! What was that? I was too busy noticing myself. This kind of hit and run leaves the worst kind of mark.

But I don’t have time to stop and assess the damage – too much to do, so little time. But then I see the giant stopwatch, with His finger pressing the button. “Let’s see what she decides. I’ve got all the time in the world.” Do I look beyond myself, now that I notice something isn’t quite right? Or perhaps it is the ear-piercing scream that wakes me out of my walking coma. Yes, there is time for a hug. There is time for a smile, any kind of acknowledgement to let you know you are important to me. I see you. I love you.

I’m sorry.

Leave a Reply

