One Piece of the Puzzle

Nothing quite like a ball of warmth curled up on my chest, breathing sweetly into my neck. As she drifts off to sleep, I hold her tiny hand, caressing each finger. I could stay this way forever. But the shoes come, then the skinned knees, twirling dresses, tea parties, Barbie dolls, sleepovers…I don’t want to think too far forward. Each moment is so precious.

Am I really blest with all of this? My love is so great for her, for them all. I can’t help but look to the heavens. “See what love the Father has bestowed on us that we may be called the children of God. Yet so we are.” (1 John 3:1a) How much can the God of the universe love me as His child! I am so limited, so small and insignificant, yet His love is so deep, so purposeful, so boundless. “For God so loved the world that he gave* his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him might not perish but might have eternal life.” (John 3:16) Such a gift! For what? For me? For you? For every person who ever was or ever will be?

Perfect Surrender. The ultimate sacrifice. Given out of love. I sacrifice too – out of love. Nothing worth mentioning, just a drop of water in the ocean of His love. So vast and immeasurable is His love. Christ thought nothing of Himself, only of what He could give, only of the souls He could gain. He relied completely on God, despite the pain, despite the cross. He bore it willingly, out of love.

Surrender is all about love.

Leave a Reply

