Overflow

I keep pushing forward, tripping, stumbling. Have I made any ground? Everything seems the same. How I wish I could borrow His eyes for a while, not to mention His Love. Those pesky sins are all that stand in the way. Still, He can use a broken vessel beyond its own capacity, miraculously bringing goodness out of what seems to be hopeless. “We know that all things work for good for those who love God,* who are called according to his purpose.” (Romans 8:28)

Shall I be ashamed of my sin which blocks His path? It isn’t insurmountable for Him. Shall I fall into despair, that I am not as I ought to be? I still am His. Shall I resent my shortcomings? I can do anything in Christ. “yet I live, no longer I, but Christ lives in me; insofar as I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the Son of God who has loved me and given himself up for me.” (Galatians 2:20)

I surrender my sin, my shortcomings. He knows what they are for. Everything is for His purpose, if I let Him do His work. The painter, searching for just the right light; the writer, scribbling with a burst of inspiration; the musician, finishing the last few measures; the watchmaker, making the last adjustment. Nothing is in vain, for it is all His. I give it to Him, the good and the bad, to bring Him glory. He uses it, magnifies it, multiplies it; it becomes greater than what I started with. Only if I surrender.

Jesus could not have fed the 5,000 if the little boy didn’t surrender his lunch to feed the crowd. (John 6:9-13)

Leave a Reply

