Sleep Walking

Today I surrendered to sleep. It just hit me, during the afternoon doldrums. One, two, three nods and I was gone. The little ones were all asleep, and I was able to take a much needed nap. Sure, it would be easier to go to bed at a decent hour each night, and never need a nap, but where’s the fun in that? Good-bye schoolwork, hello pillow.

Sleep is no indulgence. The need sneaks up on you, like drinking water – if you are thirsty, you’re already dehydrated. It’s a whole lot easier to resist sleep than water. There are so many distractions, so much work, so little time. This blog itself is a distraction from sleep. I should be sleeping right now. But where’s the fun in that?

I used to be the type that got my 3 squares and 8 hours – even in college. Until I had kids. Now I relish cuddling up with one of my babies and taking a nap together. The dishes can wait, and they usually do, until everyone else is asleep. So many things can get done while everyone else sleeps. So I wake up earlier and go to bed later, drifting in and out of consciousness during the day. “Mommy, wake up.”

I feel like I accomplish more when I don’t sleep. I wonder if it’s really true. Sleep walking through life, in a fog, missing details, lacking energy, more grumpy, less patient. Where’s the fun in that? I’m going to bed.

Leave a Reply

