It’s Alive!

I’m not a morning person – not since I’ve had kids, anyway. It’s not that I don’t like waking up early, I actually love it. I’m just SO tired. I usually drag myself out of bed, after hitting the snooze button a few times, and lazily start my day, hoping the kids sleep longer than yesterday. If, for some reason, the morning gets the best of me and I don’t get a shower, I walk around in a fog all day long, grumpy and half asleep. A shower is my coffee!

Well, this morning I woke up at 5:15 without an alarm clock. Immediately my mind started racing, thinking of all the things I had to do for the day. I jumped right into the Scriptures, which once was a common practice of mine, but lately has been overlooked. I found time to empty the dishwasher, start a load of laundry, make muffins, clean out a kitchen cupboard, and go on a morning walk all before breakfast. Sometimes a day will go by without any of these things happening.

The day wore on with the busyness of school. I had a sick one to care for, which felt like an extra reminder from God that I need to trust. Normally, when someone is sick, I get very irritable and frustrated, because my plans basically go out the window. I feel completely unproductive, the house becomes a wreck, and everyone is out of sorts. This time, though, I didn’t have any plan to lose, so I didn’t feel frustrated. I was able to live in the moment. Need a pillow? No problem. Some more water? Sure. Here’s a blanket. The crying, the cleaning, the potty-training 2 year old, all went on as always. But this time I went with it. I didn’t fight it. Why should I? I didn’t have anything else to do, just what was right in front of me, in that moment. I found myself more attentive to my children, more engaging and happier. The chaos was still there, but I didn’t have any expectations or judgment for what was supposed to be.

Not bad for a first day!

“For I know well the plans I have in mind for you, plans for your welfare and not for woe, so as to give you a future of hope.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

Leave a Reply

