Game On!

While flipping through my Roman Missal, I found a section called ‘How to be a Better Catholic’ (p. 2260). The Church gives everything we need! It even has a Spiritual Game Plan. Here are just a few suggestions it makes:

  1. Get up at a fixed time, as early as possible. (Didn’t I say God is a God of order?)
  2. Offer your day to God through the intercession of our Lady.
  3. Work with order and intensity during the day as a way of serving God. (Intensity is a key word for me. I have to be intense in my work to get everything done. What does that say about me when my list of things to do is only half done?)
  4. Try to attend Mass, receiving Holy Communion, as often as possible. (Got Grace?)
  5. Spend some time in mental prayer before the Blessed Sacrament. (This one is tough with lilttle kids. Maybe give them a toy or book to look at. Then for every second you are able to pray without distraction, thank God. I’ve so often been annoyed with my kids that I wasn’t able to pray for just 5 minutes without distraction. Wouldn’t it be better for me to thank God for the 2 minutes I had with Him?)
  6. Pray the Angelus. (I just started to do this a few weeks ago, and I really enjoy it.)
  7. Pray the Rosary, if possible, with your family, offering each decade for a specific intention. (This is also tough for me. That means dinner has to be on time, the TV has to go off, and dishes have to wait. AND I have to ignore all the whining.)
  8. Do some other spiritual reading. (I really benefit from opening the Catechism at random and just start reading.)
  9. Make a short examination of conscience at the end of the day before going to bed. (I try to do this twice a day, because my afternoons are much more pleasant after an attitude correction.)

If I did any of these daily, I’m sure they would be a huge help. If there is a patron saint of consistency, I need to ask him to intercede for me. I’ve known about this list for some time, but can’t stick with anything. I thank God for His patience; otherwise, I’d be doomed.

4 thoughts on “Game On!

  1. Hello Boot Camp mom! This is very similar to something Cardinal Newman wrote. I like your comment about thanking God for 2 minutes instead of trying to pray for 5 minutes without distraction. I think what counts is the effort we make, not necessarily the amount of time, especially with so many things in a day to distract us. Was sit Mother Teresa who said that God doesn’t expect perfection, he expects faithfulness? Drop by my blog sometime.

  2. I find it easier to pray the Rosary right after lunch. Although my husband cannot be with us, he prays during his lunch break, too. If we’ve had a rough morning, the afternoon always goes so much better after we pray the Rosary. We can really tell the difference on the days we miss.

    • What a great idea! That probably helps settle the kids down to get back into school, too. I too often miss the ‘outside of the box’ solutions that many creative homeschoolers come up with. Thanks, Andrea!

Leave a Reply

