The Epidemic of Inefficiency

I made homemade baby food yesterday. Finally. It only took me six children to finally do it a few years ago, and now with my newest little one, who is almost 8 months old, I stopped procrastinating and did it. Maybe with my next child I’ll try sign language – another ‘to do’ on my endless list.

It was ironic that on Dr. Ray yesterday a mother of six called in asking for advice on procrastination. She said she worked hard and got things done, just in a rush at the last minute. I almost had to stop and look in the mirror to make sure I wasn’t on the phone, forgetting that I now have 7 children. Dr. Ray then determined that she wasn’t really a procrastinator, just not as efficient as she would like to be. He recommended a pop culture advertising campaign – Just Do It. Didn’t I just say I needed to surrender to Now?Is it an epidemic, or coincidence? Or maybe God can even use Dr. Ray.

Efficiency has become an eternal problem – ever since the Fall. “Cursed is the ground because of you! In toil you shall eat its yield all the days of your life. Thorns and thistles it shall bear for you, and you shall eat the grass of the field. By the sweat of your brow you shall eat bread, Until you return to the ground, from which you were taken;” (Genesis 3:17b-19a) While this curse of Original Sin manifests itself in different ways today, it has plagued society to such a degree that ingenuity produces bigger and better inventions to try to supercede the stain of sin. But man is not God, nor can man destroy the eternal principles that God has set in motion. Just as man cannot remove the effects of gravity, he cannot remove the Fall’s curse.

So, despite my desire for efficiency and call to Just Do It, I have to remember that seeking perfection in this transient life is futile. “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be given you besides.” (Matthew 6:33) Probably the most efficient thing I can do is give my day to God and trust in His will for me.

Leave a Reply

