Eight Tips to Sanctify a Bathroom

At some point in my adult life I chose the bathroom as the sanctuary in my home. Perhaps it is the need to find quiet amidst the perpetual noise that exists in a large family. Perhaps it is my desire for calm in the storm. The most likely reason seems to be my burning desire to draw close to God.

The bathroom is a perfect space to meet God. These are the qualities that I think set the right ambiance:

  1. Low light. My bathroom has a small window that doesn’t give much light. I find low light peaceful and calming – a good place to focus on God. Sometimes I will burn a candle to help me quiet myself. Focusing on the flame settles my spirit.
  2. Locked door. I chose my bathroom because it is adjacent to my bedroom. A fussy child has to go through my locked bedroom to get to the bathroom door. This affords a few more uninterrupted minutes.
  3. Music. I have my alarm clock/radio in the bathroom so I can listen to some classical music on NPR to ease into my quiet time.
  4. Room to kneel. My bathroom is just the right size – big enough to kneel, but small enough to still have that womb-like comfort of a cozy space. I have a rug in there too, so my knees can handle it.
  5. Mirrors. Looking at myself reminds me of two things: God made me in His image, and He’s not finished with me yet. I also use a dry erase marker to write prayers that I’m trying to memorize.
  6. Scents. A vanilla candle or lavender bubble bath can work wonders for finding a quiet place. We are sensory people, and beautiful fragrances work great for me.
  7. Tissues. The bathroom seems to be one of the few places I can have a good cry, so it’s nice to have soft tissue to use, rather than toilet paper.
  8. A visited place. The great thing about the bathroom is you use it several times during the day. I always use my bathroom, instead of the other ones in the house, because it reminds me to savor those few minutes and re-focus on Christ. If I had a walk-in pantry, that might make a good place too.

“Be still and know that I am God!” (Psalms 46:11a)

God takes to ordinary and makes it extraordinary. It is His nature – His miraculous, mysterious, omnipotent way. Shouldn’t we also try to do the same, and bring holiness to the ordinary spaces of our lives?

Where is your sacred place?

One thought on “Eight Tips to Sanctify a Bathroom

Leave a Reply

